Strictly Business Boxing
Strictly Business Boxing

Award Recipients Announced

For 35th Ring 8 Holiday Event & Awards Ceremony

December 11th In New York Christy

Martin & Katie Taylor Among Honorees!

(November 7th) The award recipients list for the 35th Ring 8 Holiday Event and Awards Ceremony, highlighted by celebrated honorees Christy Martin, Boxing Legends Award winner, and Boxer of the Year Katie Taylor, has been officially announced.


The Ring 8 Holiday Event and Awards ceremony will be held Sunday afternoon (12:30-5:30 p.m. ET), December 11, at Russo’s On The Bay in Howard Beach, New York.


Martin is a women’s boxing pioneer who was inducted into the International Boxing Hall of Fame in 2020, while Taylor won an Olympic gold medal representing Ireland in 2012, as well as the reigning World unified lightweight champion.


“Our main event this year focuses on women’s boxing,” veteran Ring 8 President Bob Duffy said. “Today, women boxers are just as entertaining as men. We are honoring two of the greatest, Christy Martin and Katie Taylor. Katie and Amanda Serrano sold out Madison Square Garden and Christy fought there in 2001. She was the first woman boxer signed by Don King and he promoted her for years. They’ve helped women’s boxing get to where it is today.


 “We do this every year to remember the people who have given so much to local boxing and give them an award to let them know we appreciate them. This may be the first time some have been honored for their accomplishments that have enhanced boxing in New York. We’re topping off our awards ceremony this year with two international stars, Christy and Katie.”


A complete list of 2022 Ring 8 honorees is below:



Boxing Legend: Christy Martin

Boxer of the Year: Katie Taylor

Prospect of the Year: Cesar Francis

Humanitarian Award: Jeanette Salazar

Sam Kellerman Media Award: Ron Borges

Long & Meritorious Service Award: Ed Post

Uncrowned Champion Award: Kevin Moley

Trainer of the Year: Aureliano Sosa

Professional Official of the Year: Ricky Gonzalez

Amateur Official of the Year: Deni Auclair

Good Guy Award: Michael “Mickey” Pickford

Budd Schulberg Award: Dave Schuster

Patrick Day Sports Achievement Award: Timothy Mertens


Tickets are $150.00 and include a complete brunch with cocktail hour upon entry, followed by seating at the awards ceremony, dinner and dessert, and top-shelf open bar throughout the afternoon. There will also be a silent auction of boxing memorabilia. This event is expected to sellout, and everybody is urged to purchase tickets as soon as possible to secure favorable seating. Part of the proceeds will go to the AAIB Scholarship Fund.


Tickets are available to purchase by contacting Ring 8 President Bob Duffy at 516.313.2304 or Ads for the NYSBHOF program are also available: Back Cover ($400.00), Inside Front or Back Cover ($300.00), Full Page ($150.00), Half-Page ($80.00), and Half Page (50.00).


The deadline for submitting all ads is December 1, 2022. Ads must be emailed ( or mailed to Bob Duffy, 1112 Whitewood Landing, Massapequa Park, NY 11762. All checks (payable to Ring 8) for tickets or journal ads should be mailed to Duffy,


Donations of any denomination are welcome for those unable to attend the festivities.


For additional information contact Duffy.


Russo’s On The Bay is located at 162-45 Crossbay Blvd. in Howard Beach (718.843.5055).


ABOUT RING 8: Formed in 1954 by an ex-prizefighter, Jack Grebelsky, Ring 8 became the eighth subsidiary of what was then known as the National Veteran Boxers Association — hence, RING “8″ — and today the organization’s motto remains: Boxers Helping Boxers.


RING 8 is fully committed to supporting less fortunate people in the boxing community who may require assistance in terms of paying rent, medical expenses, or whatever justifiable need.

Print | Sitemap
© Strictly Business Boxing