Strictly Business Boxing
Strictly Business Boxing

On This Day In Boxing History!

1894: Georges Carpentier Was Born!

Georges Carpentier

Born: January 12th, 1894

Birth Place: Lievin, Pas-de-Calais, France

Residence: Paris, France

Pro-Debut: November 1st, 1908

Alias:  The Orchid Man

Division: Flyweight to Heavyweight

Stance: Orthodox

Height: 5′ 11″  

Reach: 73″ 

Bouts: 111

Rounds: 861

Ko’s: 53%

Record: 90-14-6, 59Ko’s  

Death: October 28th, 1975 age 81


January 12th

1894: Georges Carpentier was born

1900: Kid McCoy KO4 Joe Choynski

1944: Joe Frazier was born

1953: Carmen Basilio W10 Ike Williams

1951: Ezzard Charles TKOs Lee Oma in 10 for heavyweight boxing title.

1956: Sam Langford dies at age 72.                                                                

1963: Louisville KY, draft board refuses exemption for boxer Muhammad Ali.

Pone Kingpetch W 5 Fighting Harada

1969: Wolfgramm was born

1976: Ben Villaflor KO13 Morito Kashiwaba

1980: Alexis Arguello KO11 Ruben Castillo

1985: Harry Arroyo KO11 Terrance Alli

1991: Prince Williams W12 Mwehu Beya

1996: Tim Witherspoon W10 Al (Ice) Cole

Roy Jones Jr. KO2 Merqui Sosa

2002: Acelino Freitas W12 Joel Casamayor

2005: Promoter Don King sues Disney, ESPN, ABC Cable Networks, & Advocate Communications for $2.5-billion, claiming false & defamatory statements about King were made on the TV program Sports Century.

2008: After 82 years of use, the world-famous boxing ring from Madison Square Garden was retired in September 2007. It was then shipped 270 miles north to Canastota, New York and on January 12, 2008 the historic ring was assembled for one last time, as it will now be on permanent display in the International Boxing Hall of Fame.

2013: Adrian Hernandez W12 Dirceu Cabarca

Lucia Morelli MD10 Rola El Halabi      

2018: Claressa Shields W10 Tori Nelson

Print Print | Sitemap
© Strictly Business Boxing